My load-out

The place for general talk about gun, shooting, loading, camping, survival, and preparedness related tools and gear, as well as gear technology discussion, gear reviews, and gear specific "range reports" (all other types of gear should be on the back porch).
doc Russia

My load-out

Post by doc Russia »

So I think after much experimentation, I have finally gotten my loadout setup the way I like it.
I was going over it (as I periodically do) checking to make sure that everything works right, and that anything I used or broke is replaced, and thought I would share it with the folks here in the forum.
It is what I use, and it works well for me. YMMV.
For those of you who do not know, besides working clinically as an Emergency Physician, I am also the Team physician for a regional tactical (SWAT) team here in North Texas. As such, I train monthly with the team. My primary job is to train the tactical medics, provide tactical operational medical support, and generally be around to make suggestions and answer questions for commander regarding the health and medical welfare of the team.
The neat thing is that I have been around enough that the guys will let me run through their shooting drills, and sometimes take part in their scenarios as an operator when they are short on bodies. In other words, I get high speed training on a regular basis, and it's cheap since they let me use their ammo :D :D :D
So, Here is what I run:
The gas mask, pistol and medical kit are all quick detach subloads. On call-outs the laws of Texas prohibit me from carrying openly, so I always put the glock somewhere out of sight and out of mind during those times.
the 10-40 conversion barrel is because I carry a 10mm, but the SWAT team is going from a mix of 9/40/45 to 40 cal. So, to use their ammo, I use the conversion barrel.
If you guys have any questions about why or how I did this or that, ask away.