Reloading components multiple reviews

The place for your detailed reviews and reports for guns and gear
SoupOrMan

Reloading components multiple reviews

Post by SoupOrMan »

HSM Custom Bullets .40 S&W 180gr Plated Flat Nose

$64.99 per box of 500 at midwayusa.com

Capsule Review - No problems with lead vapors, easy to load, but take the calipers to them and load accordingly.

Fiocchi Zero Pollution Small Pistol Primers

$52.99 per box of 1500 at midwayusa.com

Capsule Review - Easy to recognize your brass from others', no misfires yet, but the presentation isn't flip tray-friendly.

Hodgdon Universal Clays Pistol and Shotgun Powder

$23.99 per pound at local gun shop

Capsule review - It burns cleanly and leaves the cases cool to the touch. It's also easy to measure and dispense.

----

Since I started shooting USPSA matches a few years ago I had been buying factory ammunition by the caseload and watching my costs skyrocket. Every match I was told "You'll be reloading soon enough" and after reading online about reloading, reading through the manuals and collecting enough brass and equipment to get situated, all I needed after that was bullets. I primarily shoot indoors, so I try to minimize my exposure to lead vapor to the lowest level possible. To keep from getting too much lead vapor into the air I decided to use Winchester's "WinClean" ammunition as the standard for low-vapor and clean-burning ammo. Those cases come out clean enough that you could reload them without running them through the tumbler if you so desired. Unfortunately, I came into gathering my supplies as the Obama-fueled buying frenzy was still in its full force. I've had to make do with good timing to get primers and bullets.