More Scared Cops Behaving Badly

This forum is for discussion of politics, diplomacy, law, and justice
skb12172

More Scared Cops Behaving Badly

Post by skb12172 »

Scare cops and white people, get charged with false crines before eventually getting tagged with, basically, a misdemeanor.

I've never even heard of that bullshit weapons charge. Clearly, it didn't actually exist or apply, since they self-edited the charges to Trespassing, which I doubt even that will stick if he really fights it.

https://amp.click2houston.com/news/into ... police-say
There must be an end to this intimidation by those who come to this great country, but reject its culture.
Langenator

Re: More Scared Cops Behaving Badly

Post by Langenator »

The story from the Houston Chronicle hyperventilates quite a bit less: http://www.chron.com/news/houston-texas ... =happening

Background: I'm a cop, in Texas, so I'm familiar with the laws. That said, I wasn't there, and I'm just going by news reports.

From what I can gather, the subject was drunk and causing a ruckus in the hotel bar. He was asked to leave by a duly authorized representative of the person in control of the property, i.e., hotel security on behalf of hotel management. According to the Chron story, they tried to get him to go to his room, since he was a hotel guest. He refused, and was beligerent about it, so hotel management called the police. The police told him he needed to leave or go to his room. Once he refused to comply, after being told by a peace officer, he met the definition, under Texas law, of Criminal Trespass. (TPC 30.05(2))

I'm going to guess that when the officer(s) tried to arrest him for CT, he resisted and struck one of them, thus garnering himself the Assaulting a Peace Officer charge.

Not sure what got them up to his room or why; if it was me, I would have simply arrested him for the CT (and Assault if it happened), and then taken him to jail.