SafeSaw

Discussion of all things technological and/or gadgety
John_in_Longview

SafeSaw

Post by John_in_Longview »

I want a table saw, but I am a computer programmer and need my fingers. The SafeSaw looks like the perfect fit. Has anyone heard anything bad (or good) about them?

Thanks,
John
PawPaw

Re: SafeSaw

Post by PawPaw »

If it works for you, then it works. Though, I've been using table saws for years, and I have my all my fingers. Actually, with most table saws today, accidents are pretty rare, and if you're counting on the safety features of a saw to keep your fingers out of the blade, you probably won't be counting with all your fingers for long.

Table saws are dangerous, so you've got to keep your head in the game so that your fingers don't fall on the floor.
Dennis Dezendorf
PawPaw's House
Precision

Post by Precision »

I agree with Paw Paw.

My tablesaw, a mid range one from Sears came with a blade guard that lifts up as you edge the wood in. A good safety feature, except that it was designed wrong and had way too much lateral slop. After it engaged the blade for the 3rd or so time, off it came. The blade had only engaged the plastic edge, but under different circumstances it could engage the metal and... we'll just say that would potentially have the ability to overwhelm my normal eye protection among other things.

That guard has long been off. Call it seven plus years. I can't think of ONE time it has been missed, but I pay attention when I have the machine running and when off, the blade is kept under the height of the fence and the fence is stored about 3/4" away from the blade and the saw is unplugged.