School Me On Classic Cocktail Ingredients

Discussions about our lives, families, jobs... things may get a little personal
MarkD

School Me On Classic Cocktail Ingredients

Post by MarkD »

So my wife and I have talked about having Friday Cocktail Nights, and while I have some experience with some of the ingredients I thought you [strike]drunkards[/strike] fine folks might have some suggestions, especially on brands.

I'm thinking classics here, manhattan, old-fahioned, martini, side-car, etc. So a little digging says the six required liquors for such an endeavor are whisk(e)y, brandy, gin, tequila, vodka and rum.

On the topic of whisky, my personal go-to are either Glenmorangie 10yr single malt or Jameson Black Barrel. I might go for a half-decent blended scotch (maybe Chivas or JW Black) for mixing. Bourbon I'd probably go for Makers Mark or Evan Williams (which I've heard real good things about, and it's CHEAP). Rye is something I have no experience with, and the only Canadian's I've tried were Seagrams 7 (crap) and the higher-level Seagrams (the name of which escapes me) which I don't recall being too bad, but it's been a long time. I've had Jack Daniels too, both regular No 7 (not bad) and Gentleman Jack (actually quite nice). Other suggestions welcome.

Vodka: I'm a firm believer that if you go much above Stoly you're just trying to impress someone, and I might just go to Costco and get a handle of Kirkland brand which I've heard is excellent, and you get a handle for less than you'd pay for a 750 of anything else.

Rum: I used to think Bacardi was good stuff until I had Pyrat, but that seems a little much for mixed drinks.

Tequila: Patron is good, but again not sure it's necessary for a margarita or some such.

What I know about brandy and gin you could put in a liter bottle and have plenty of room for a liter of your favorite beverage.