Back from a little trip.

Discussions about our lives, families, jobs... things may get a little personal
SoupOrMan

Back from a little trip.

Post by SoupOrMan »

Mom and Dad wanted to take a family vacation since they're both retired. So I went with them up to Clayton, NY and the Thousand Islands.

How did that happen? One day a couple of years ago I got bored during a phone call (yet another caller who is my age but thinks "I'm not very good with computers" is the same as "do my work for me."). I got bored enough to wonder "Where did they come up with Thousand Island Dressing?" Now, I may have heard of the Thousand Islands chain as a little kid, but I never really got an idea as to where they were located. So I Googled "Thousand Island Dressing origin" and found all kinds of stuff about upstate New York. Then I saw the information about Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor, and the crazy guy who fancied himself a pirate during the Patriot War in Canada. With those items in mind I started looking for more tourist info.

I told my folks about what I found and they started planning the trip with me. The next thing I know what was a simple local area tour turned into a trip of a good portion of the state: Niagara Falls, Cooperstown and Lake Placid also found themselves on my itinerary. Without further ado, here are the TL;DR reviews of where I went:

Boldt Castle: if your wife or girlfriend loves Downton Abbey and you love looking at someone else's restoration project, go here for some Gilded Age charm. Worth seeing the boathouse if fancy yachts are your thing.

Sackets Harbor Battlefield: quick walking tour, the monuments for the centennial and bicentennial are modest and becoming of the battle. Also, never let an easily-panicked junior Navy officer have the authority to destroy an Army supply depot, thus turning a victory into a costly draw. You will also be swarmed by gnats and mosquitoes.